Search This Blog

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Arkham House

Publication announcements
The following titles are now available:

by Lucius Shepard $2195
No fantasist in recent years has contributed a more substantial bibliography of superior stories within an almost unimaginably brief period than Lucius Shepard. A former rock musician. Shepard made his auctorial debut in the 1983 edition of Universe and since then has dazzled the field with superbly crafted tales of futuristic war, menacing wind elementals, parallel worlds, interstellar incursions, a six-thousand-foot dragon, and, in the ironically entitled ‘R & R,” a Central Arnericqn sojourn that is one of the most sheerly harrowing stories ever conceived by an American author. Following a foreword by Michael Bishop, the new collection by this brilliant young writer will include eleven works. many of extended length: “Black Coral,” The End of Life As We Know It,.’ “How the Wind Spoke at Madaket,” “The Jaguar Hunter,” “The Man Who Painted the Dragon Griaule.” “Mengele,” “The Night of White Bhairab,” “R&R,” ‘Salvador, ““A Spanish Lesson,” and “A Traveler’s Tale.” With photomontage interiors by Jeffrey K. Potter, “Shepard’s ‘P & P is the novella of the year.... Try living for a while with these three American soldiers, on leave in a deadly little town where the only choices are to die, to desert, or to return to the horror of the war; you can’t read the story fairly without it changing you—Orson Scott Card in Science Fiction Review (ISBN 0-87054-154-4)
by Tanith Lee $21.95
Reigning empress of the erotic and the exotic, Tanith Lee first appeared before adult audiences with The Birthgrave in 1975 and soon emerged as one of the towering figures in modern fantasy. Mistress of a deliciously sensuous, almost sinuous, prose style, Ms. Lee has regaled readers with tales of werewolves that prowl châteaux, an Earth- woman living in exile on a distant planet, demons that inhabit bodies of the living dead, a vampire princess who has conquered the ages, The twenty-three stories collected herein constitute a massive retrospective of the author’s career at midpoint; the book itself is a distinguished one-volume library of myth-weaving at its most eloquent and evocative. The contents include “Because Our Skins Are Finer,” “Bite-Me-Not,” “Black As Ink.”” Bright Burning Tiger,” “Cyrion in Wax,” “A Day in the Skin,” “The Dry Season,” “Elle est Trois, (La Mort),” “Foreign Skins,” “The Gorgon,” “La Reine Blanche,” “A Lynx With Lions,” “Magritte’s Secret Agent,” “Medra.” “Nunc Dimittis,” “Odds Against the Gods,” “A Room With a Vie,” “Sirriamnis,” “Southern Lights,” “Tamastara,” “When the Clock Strikes,” “Wolfland,” and “Written in Water,” With scratchboard drawings by Douglas Smith, “Lee is able to effortlessly build to a climax of breathtaking menace with overtones of dislocation and loss, This generous collection of twenty-three stories is a must for Lee fans,,..”—Publhen Weekly (ISBN 0-87054-153-6)

by James Tiptree, Jr. $11.95
“The Quintana Roo is a real and very strange place, It is the long, wild easternmost shore of the Yucatan Peninsula, officially but not psychologically part of Mexico, A diary of daily life on its jungly beaches could sometimes be taken for a log of life on an alien planet,” writes James Tiptree, Jr., in the preface to his new collection of three talismanic tales of the supernatural. During the late 1970s Tiptree—one of the greatest American authors of short imaginative fiction—lived for months on the eerie windswept shore of the Yucatan. and the true protagonist of his book is neither the Tiptree narrator nor the manifestations of ancient Maya civilization, but rather the Quintana Roo itself as a living, pulsating entity that envelops the reader within a uniquely alien ambience, Following Tiptree’s introduction are these unforgettable nouvelles of weird fantasy: “What Came Ashore at Lirios,” “The Boy Who Waterskied to Forever,” and “Beyond the Dead Reef,” Profusely illustrated in charcoal by Glennray Tutor. “Excellent work—the erotic and eerie backdrop is powerfully evoked in tales which, in intensity and atmosphere, approach Tiptree’s best,”—Kirkus Reviews (ISBN 0-87054-152-8)
by H.P. Lovecraft $18.95
Edited by S. T. loshi, introduction by T, E. D. Klein. and with an index to Supernatural Horror in Literature,” a chronology of the Lovecraft fiction, and textual notes; see page 3 of stock list for story titles. ‘The culmination of a monumental project—the bringing into print of Lovecraft’s stories in their definitive form, based on manuscripts and notes—Publishers Weekly (ISBN 0-87054-039-4)

The following forthcoming titles will be released in the autumn of 1987
by Michael Shea ( price $16.95)
“One of the most interesting and apt horror writers of our time,” observed the distinguished critic Algis Budrys recently about Michael Shea. Recipient of the 1983 World Fantasy Award for his picaresque Nifft adventures, Shea also is a superbly accomplished exponent of science-fictional horror, Not in the entire history of the genre has an alien monstrosity been more compellingly presented than in “Polyphemus,” while ‘The Autopsy’ ‘—the author’s most famous story—is quite simply one of the great gut-wrenching experiences in modern horror. Shea’s new collection of seven nouvelles extends from the horrific to the humorous, from picaresque to cyberpunk: “The Angel of Death,” “The Autopsy,” “The Extra,” “The Horror on the #33,” “The Pearls of the Vampire Queen,” “Polyphemus,” and “Uncle Tuggs” With wraparound jacket by Harry 0. Morris. (ISBN 0-87054-155-2)

From the vampire-cursed realm of medieval Averoigne to the time-ravaged spires of dying Zothique, the works of Clark Ashton Smith comprise a unique and imperishable legacy. A major pillar of Arkham House since 1942, Smith was a member of the Weird Tales triumvirate, including H. P, Lovecraft and Robert E, Howard, who created a now- legendary golden age of American weird fantasy during the 1930s. Following an introduction by Ray Bradbury, this tribute to a master literary sorcerer will include the following stories: “The Colossus of Ylourgne,” “The End of the Story,” “The Holiness of Azédarac,” “A Rendezvous in Averoigne,” “The Death of Malygris.” “The Double Shadow,” “The Last Incantation,” “A Voyage to Sfanomoe”,” “The Coming of the White Worm,” “The Seven Geases,” “The Tale of Satampra Zeiros,” “The Weird of Avoosl Wuthoqquan,” “The Charnel God,” “The Dark Eidolon,” “The Death of Ilalotha,” “The Garden of Adompha,” “The Empire of the Necromancers,” “The Isle of the Torturers,” “The Last Hieroglyph,” “Morthylla,” “Necromancy in Naat,” “Xeethra,” “The Chain of Aforgomon,” “The City of the Singing Flame.” “Genius Loci,” “Master of the Asteroid,” “The Maze of Maal Dweb,” “The Planet of the Dead,” “The Uncharted Isle,” and “The Vaults of Yoh-Vombis,” With photomontage interiors by Jeffrey K. Potter, (ISBN

P0 Box 546
Sauk City, WI 53583
March 1987

No comments:


You're at "Chrispy's Antiquarian Horror Page".

Go Back to Original HPL blog